Kazakhstan Tourist Visa

Visitor visa types for Kazakhstan

Do I need a travel visa for Kazakhstan?

It is necessary to have a travel visa for Kazakhstan unless you are from a country which is visa-exempt.

Citizens from a number of countries can enter Kazakhstan visa-free for up to 30 days including the US, Canada, all EU countries, Brazil, and Argentina. People from eight neighboring countries (Russia, Ukraine, Georgia, Armenia, Belarus, Kyrgyzstan, Moldova, and Mongolia) can enter for up to 90 days without a visa.

Fill this form if you need to know if you need a visa to enter Kazakhstan:


Travelers of 117 nationalities can now apply for a Kazakhstan tourist visa online. The list of countries eligible for the Kazakhstan eVisa include:

  • Algeria
  • Andorra
  • Angola
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Aruba
  • Bahrain
  • Bangladesh
  • Barbados
  • Belize
  • Benin
  • Bhutan
  • Bolivia
  • Botswana
  • Brunei Darussalam
  • Burkina Faso – Upper Volta
  • Burundi
  • Cambodia
  • Cameroon
  • Central African Republic
  • Chad
  • China
  • Colombia
  • Comoros
  • Congo (Republic)
  • Costa Rica
  • Côte d’Ivoire (Ivory Coast)
  • Cuba
  • Democratic People’s Republic of Korea
  • Djibouti
  • Dominica
  • Dominican Republic
  • El Salvador
  • Eritrea
  • Ethiopia
  • Faroe Islands
  • Fiji
  • Gabon
  • Gambia
  • Ghana
  • Grenada
  • Guatemala
  • Guinea 44
  • Guinea-Bissau
  • Guyana
  • Haiti
  • Honduras
  • India
  • Indonesia
  • Jamaica
  • Kenya
  • Kiribati
  • Kuwait
  • Laos
  • Lebanon
  • Lesotho
  • Lesotho
  • Liberia
  • Liechtenstein
  • Macao
  • Macedonia
  • Madagascar
  • Malawi
  • Maldives
  • Mali
  • Marshall Islands
  • Mauritania
  • Micronesia
  • Montenegro
  • Morocco
  • Mozambique
  • Myanmar (Burma)/li>
  • Namibia
  • Nauru
  • Nepal
  • Nicaragua
  • Niger
  • Nigeria
  • Oman
  • Palau
  • Panama
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Philippines
  • Qatar
  • Rwanda
  • Saint Kitts and Nevis
  • Saint Lucia
  • Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Samoa
  • San Marino
  • Sao Tome and Principe
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Senegal
  • Swaziland
  • Seychelles
  • Sierra Leone
  • South Africa
  • Sri Lanka
  • Suriname
  • Tanzania
  • Thailand
  • Togo
  • Tonga
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Tunisia
  • Turkmenistan
  • Tuvalu
  • Uganda
  • Uruguay
  • Vanuatu
  • Vatican
  • Venezuela
  • VietNam
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe

Citizens of the below 23 countries con also obtain a Kazakhstan visa online for business or medical treatment:

  • Bermuda
  • Burundi
  • Cambodia
  • Cuba
  • Greenland
  • Haiti
  • Honduras
  • Indonesia
  • Kuwait
  • Laos
  • Macao
  • Macedonia
  • Montenegro
  • Morocco
  • Nicaragua
  • Oman
  • Qatar
  • Serbia
  • South Africa
  • The Bahamas
  • Vatican
  • Vietnam
  • Virgin Islands

Visitor visa types for Kazakhstan

There are a number of different types of visitor visas for Kazakhstan. The Tourist eVisa for Kazakhstan has been made available on January 1st, 2019 and will simplify and quicken the process of obtaining a visa for eligible citizens.

Kazakhstan Tourist eVisa

The Kazakhstan Tourist eVisa makes the process of obtaining a travel authorization for Kazakhstan much quicker and simpler. It eliminates the need to go to an embassy or consulate for eligible citizens.

The application form must be completed online and only take a matter of minutes to fill out. Once approved, the eVisa will be sent to the applicant by email.

Embassy Tourist Visa for Kazakhstan

If you are not eligible to enter Kazakhstan visa-free it is necessary to obtain a visa from an embassy or consulate. It is possible to get a single-entry visa or a multiple-visa. Both are valid for 90 days and let visitors spend up to 30 days in the country. The multiple-entry visa allow visitors to leave and reenter Kazakhstan with the same visa.

Most embassies only accept applications from residents of the country the embassy is located in. If your country does not have a Kazakhstan embassy or consulate it is possible to obtain a visa on arrival.

Visa on arrival for Kazakhstan

Visas on arrival are for citizens who do not have a Kazakhstan embassy or consulate in their country. It is necessary to have a letter of invitation and to pay a fee. The visa on arrival is available at the airports of Aqtau, Almaty, Astana, Atyrau, and Oral.

The transfer desks are only open from Monday to Saturday during office hours. It is advised to only book flights which land during these hours if you are obtaining a visa on arrival.

How can I get a Kazakhstan tourist visa?

If you cannot apply for a Kazakhstan Tourist eVisa you will have to go to an embassy or consulate to apply for a Kazakhstan tourist visa. If there is not a Kazakhstan embassy or consulate in your country you can apply for a visa on arrival. There are several nationalities who do not need a visa to enter Kazakhstan for limited periods.

Eligible citizens can obtain a Kazakhstan visa online. The online visa eliminates the need to go to an embassy or consulate or to queue at the border for a visa on arrival. Simply register on the Migration Portal. fill out the application form, and pay the application fee. Upon approval, you will receive the Kazakhstan eVisa via email.